Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 21 February, 2024

And the winner of the Meteor Choice Music Prize for album of the year is…


THE GLOAMING HAVE been announced as the Meteor Choice Prize winner for Irish album of the year.

The event took place tonight in Vicar Street and saw nominees James Vincent McMorrow, The Delerentos, The Riptide Movement, and We Cut Corners perform.

While The Gloaming are away in Australia at the moment, their girlfriends accepted the award on their behalf.

Nominees absent but featured with video messages included Aphex Twin, Hozier, U2 and Damien Rice.

Their debut album, The Gloaming, will receive a €10,000 prize granted by the Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and Irish Recorded Music Association (IMRA).

The Script won Song of the Year with their track Superheroes in a public vote, beating the likes of Kodaline and The Coronas.

B_XKM2wWwAAa_NB The Script Meteor Meteor

Hozier had been the bookies favourite, with odds of 7/4 to grab the prize. But The Gloaming were a welcome winner.

To celebrate… let’s have a track… Here they are playing Samhradh Samhradh live in Christchurch, Cork.

The Gloaming / YouTube

If you’re interested in seeing more of the show, highlights will be shown on RTÉ 2 on Sunday at 10.50pm.

Are these the 10 best Irish albums of the last year?>

14 independent Irish record shops you need to visit before you die>