Dublin: 15 °C Wednesday 24 July, 2024
Macnas closes the ABSOLUT Fringe festival with On the Edge of Things is a Fierce Beauty Niall Carson/PA Wire

And the winners are... ABSOLUT Fringe fest 2011 awards

Macnas rounded off 16 days of festival performance on Sunday evening – but who carried away the awards?

SIXTEEN DAYS, OVER 100 shows and a spectacular Macnas performance to finish it off (see slideshow below): that was the ABSOLUT Fringe 2011 in Dublin.

In case you visited any of the shows, or enjoyed our coverage of the fest as its online media partners, you might be interested in the Fringe awards:

Spirit of the Fringe Commissioning Award (€5,000):

FOLLOW (WillFredd Theatre)

Other nominees: Eternal Rising of the Sun; You Can’t Just Leave – There’s Always Something; Criminal Queers; Seekers.

Fishamble New Writing Award:

The Flamboyant Bird by Damian Kearney

Other nominees: You Can’t Just Leave – There’s Always Something; Luca & the Sunshine; The Year of Magical Wanking; In My Bed.

Bewley’s Café Theatre ‘Little Gem’ Award:

Pocket Music (Donncha O’Dea & Camille Ross/Show in a Bag)

Other nominees: The Wheelchair On My Face: A look back at a myopic childhood; Luca & the Sunshine; The Yellow Wallpaper; Three Men Talking About Things They Kinda Know About.

Best Production – €750

Bird with boy (junk ensemble)

Other nominees: FOLLOW; The Adventures of Alvin Sputnik: Deep Sea Explorer; Man of Valour; Body Electric.

Best Design – €500

Man of Valour (The Corn Exchange – set and lighting by Aedín Cosgrove, music and sound by Denis Clohessy, video design by Jack Phelan)

Other nominees: Autobiographer; Jumping Off the Earth; Bird with boy; FOLLOW.

Best Male Performer – €500

Tim Watts (The Adventrues of Alvin Sputnik: Deep Sea Explorer)

Other nominees: Paul Reid (Man of Valour); Shane O’Reilly (FOLLOW); Neil Watkins (The Year of Magical Wanking)

Best Female Perfomer – €500

Amy Conroy (Eternal Rising of the Sun)

Other nominees: Liv O’Donoghue (Bird with boy); Lauren Larkin (Twenty Ten); Stefanie Preissner (Our Father)

ABSOLUT Award for Best Off-Site Production – €1,500

No Man’s Land (Fergal McCarthy)

Other nominees: In My Bed; Body Electric; You Can’t Just Leave – There’s Always Something.

The Next Stage Wild Card Award

Tom Lane (Corokinesis: The 2nd Experimental Evensong & Music for Bird with boy).

See’s coverage of the ABSOLUT Fringe festival 2011 here>

And the winners are... ABSOLUT Fringe fest 2011 awards
1 / 4
  • Macnas

  • Macnas

  • Macnas

  • Macnas

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.