Dublin: 15 °C Saturday 13 July, 2024
Jape's Richie Egan chills out before yesterday's ceremony, where he won the prize for Best Irish Album of 2011. Stephen Kilkenny/Light Curve Photo

GALLERY: Jape takes Meteor Choice Music Prize crown for second time

Richie Egan wins the prize for best Irish album of the year, for ‘Ocean of Frequency’ – adding to his 2008 triumph.

DUBLINER RICHIE EGAN – better known as Jape – has become the first act to win the Meteor Choice Music Prize for the second time, after last night being named as having produced Ireland’s best album of 2011.

His fourth album ‘Ocean of Frequency (Music is for Losers)’ saw off stiff competition from the likes of Bell X1, Lisa Hannigan and Japanese Popstars to take the prize, a trophy and a cheque for €10,000.

His victory was announced at a sold-out event at Dublin’s Olympia Theatre, which featured performances from all 10 of the acts shortlisted for the best album prize.

Dublin band Royseven also ended the night with a prize – their single ‘We Should Be Lovers’ was named the best song of 2011, as chosen by a public vote through the event’s official Facebook page.

GALLERY: Jape takes Meteor Choice Music Prize crown for second time
1 / 10
  • And So I Watch You From Afar

  • Bell X1

  • Cashier No 9

  • Japanese Popstars

  • Jape

  • Lisa Hannigan

  • Patrick Kelleher

  • Pugwash

  • Tieranniesaur

  • We Cut Corners

Meadhbh Quinn from event sponsor Meteor said the event had showcased the diversity of the music scene in Ireland, and that both Jape and Royseven were worthy winners.

The 2011 Meteor Choice Music Prize: the nominees in full

  • And So I Watch You From Afar – Gangs (Richter Collective)
  • Bell X1 – Bloodless Coup (Belly Up Records)
  • Cashier No 9 – To The Death Of Fun (Bella Union)
  • Lisa Hannigan –  Passenger (Hoop Records)
  • The Japanese Popstars – Controlling Your Allegiance (EMI)
  • Jape – Ocean of Frequency (Music Is For Losers)
  • Patrick Kelleher & His Cold Dead Hands – Golden Syrup (Osaka Records)
  • Pugwash – The Olympus Sound (EMI/1969 Records)
  • Tieranniesaur – Tieranniesaur (Popical Island)
  • We Cut Corners – Today I Realised I Could Go Home Backwards (Delphi)

(YouTube credit: FeelGoodLostFilms)

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.