Dublin: 3 °C Monday 25 January, 2021

Marvel announced nine new superhero movies and everyone needs a lie down

Welcome to the next five years of your life.

MARVEL HAVE BIG plans for the next few years, BIG plans.

After the excitement of the Avengers: Age of Ultron sneak peek trailer, the studios held a press conference yesterday detailing their schedule from 2015 into 2019.

To whet appetites, they released a first look at the concept art for Black Panther as well as a full timeline of what fans can expect from their output.

Chadwick Boseman was officially announced to play the Panther and will first appear as part of the Captain America: Civil War cast, due for release on May 6, 2016. His headline movie will be released on November 3, 2016.


The question on everyone’s lips though, was whether it was true or not that Benedict Cumberbatch had been cast to play Doctor Strange? While Marvel didn’t confirm, they gave a release date of November 4, 2016.

Other announcements included release dates for Guardians of the Galaxy 2, Inhumans, and Avengers Infinity War Part 1 and 2, as well as Marvel’s first female-led superhero movie, Captain Marvel on July 6, 2018.

B1DeoTFCMAAbe8V Source: SuperheroReport

They even threw in a new clip from age of Ultron.

Source: Marvel Entertainment/YouTube

It’s all too much too soon.

Fans could cope.


Here are the release dates in full:

  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (May 1, 2015)
  • Captain America: Civil War (May 6, 2016)
  • Doctor Strange (Nov. 4, 2016)
  • Guardians Of The Galaxy 2 (May 5, 2017)
  • Thor: Ragnarok (July 28, 2017)
  • Black Panther (Nov. 3, 2017)
  • Avengers: Infinity War Part 1 (May, 2018)
  • Captain Marvel (July 6, 2018)
  • Inhumans (Nov. 2, 2018)
  • Avengers Infinity War Part 2 (May 3, 2019)

About the author:

Read next: