Dublin: 5 °C Friday 5 March, 2021

Who won? Here are the 2016 Academy Award winners

Spotlight was named Best Picture, while Leonardo DiCaprio and Brie Larson took the main acting gongs.

Image: Associated Press

SPOTLIGHT HAS BEEN named Best Picture at the 88th Academy Awards.

Thomas McCarthy’s film, which tells the story of the Boston Globe journalists who exposed abuse within the Catholic Church, edged out rivals The Revenant and The Big Short to take the award.

Leonardo DiCaprio was named Best Actor for his performance in The Revenant, while Brie Larson picked up the gong for Best Actress for her role in Irish film Room. Alicia Vikander and Mark Rylance won awards for their supporting turns in The Danish Girl and Bridge of Spies, respectively.

Dubliner Benjamin Cleary was the only Irish winner of the night with his film Stutterer winning the award for Best Live Action Short Film. “Every day is a proud day to be Irish, but today more than usual,” Cleary said in his speech.

Other winners on the night included The Revenant (Best Actor, Best Director, Best Cinematography) and Mad Max: Fury Road, which picked up six awards.

Here’s a full list of winners.

Best Picture

  • The Big Short
  • Bridge of Spies
  • Brooklyn
  • Mad Max: Fury Road
  • The Martian
  • The Revenant
  • Room
  • WINNER: Spotlight

Best Director

  • Adam McKay – The Big Short
  • George Miller – Mad Max: Fury Road
  • WINNER: Alejandro G. Iñárritu – The Revenant
  • Lenny Abrahamson – Room
  • Tom McCarthy – Spotlight

Best Actor

  • Bryan Cranston – Trumbo
  • Matt Damon – The Martian
  • WINNER: Leonardo DiCaprio – The Revenant
  • Michael Fassbender – Steve Jobs
  • Eddie Redmayne – The Danish Girl

Best Actress

  • Cate Blanchett – Carol
  • WINNER: Brie Larson – Room
  • Jennifer Lawrence – Joy
  • Charlotte Rampling – 45 Years
  • Saoirse Ronan – Brooklyn

Best Supporting Actor

  • Christian Bale – The Big Short
  • Tom Hardy – The Revenant
  • Mark Ruffalo – Spotlight
  • WINNER: Mark Rylance – Bridge of Spies
  • Sylvester Stallone – Creed

Best Supporting Actress

  • Jennifer Jason Leigh – The Hateful Eight
  • Rooney Mara – Carol
  • Rachel McAdams – Spotlight
  • WINNER: Alicia Vikander – The Danish Girl
  • Kate Winslet – Steve Jobs

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • WINNER: The Big Short – Adam McKay and Charles Randolph
  • Brooklyn – Nick Hornby
  • Carol – Phyllis Nagy
  • The Martian – Drew Goddard
  • Room – Emma Donoghue

Best Original Screenplay

  • Bridge of Spies – Matt Charman, Ethan Coen, and Joel Coen
  • Ex Machina – Alex Garland
  • Inside Out – Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve, Josh Cooley, and Ronnie del Carmen
  • WINNER: Spotlight – Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer
  • Straight Outta Compton – Jonathan Herman, Andrea Berloff, S. Leigh Savidge, and Alan Wenkus

Best Animated Feature

  • Anomalisa
  • Boy & the World
  • WINNER: Inside Out
  • Shaun the Sheep Movie
  • When Marnie Was There

Best Foreign Language Film

  • Embrace of the Serpent (Colombia)
  • Mustang (France)
  • WINNER: Son of Saul (Hungary)
  • Theeb (Jordan)
  • A War (Denmark)

Best Documentary Feature

  • WINNER: Amy
  • Cartel Land
  • The Look of Silence
  • What Happened, Miss Simone?
  • Winter on Fire: Ukraine’s Fight for Freedom

Best Live Action Short

  • Ave Maria – dir Eric Dupont and Basil Khalil
  • Day One – dir Henry Hughes
  • Everything Will Be Okay – dir Patrick Vollrath
  • Shok – dir Jamie Donoughue
  • WINNER: Stutterer – dir Benjamin Cleary and Serena Armitage

Best Documentary Short

  • Body Team 12 – dir David Darg and Bryn Mooser
  • Chau, Beyond the Lines – dir Courtney Marsh and Jerry Franck
  • Claude Lanzmann: Spectres of the Shoah – dir Adam Benzine
  • WINNER: A Girl in the River: The Price of Forgiveness – dir Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy
  • Last Day of Freedom – dir Dee Hibbert-Jones and Nomi Talisman

Best Animated Short

  • WINNER: Bear Story
  • Prologue
  • Sanjay’s Super Team
  • We Can’t Live Without Cosmos
  • World of Tomorrow

Best Original Score

  • Bridge of Spies – Thomas Newman
  • Carol – Carter Burwell
  • WINNER: The Hateful Eight – Ennio Morricone
  • Sicario – Jóhann Jóhannsson
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens – John Williams

Best Original Song

  • Earned It, from Fifty Shades of Grey
  • Manta Ray, from Racing Extinction
  • Simple Song #3, from Youth
  • Til It Happens to You, from The Hunting Ground
  • WINNER: Writing’s on the Wall, from Spectre

Best Sound Mixing

  • Bridge of Spies – Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom, and Drew Kunin
  • WINNER: Mad Max: Fury Road – Chris Jenkins, Gregg Rudloff and Ben Osmo
  • The Martian – Paul Massey, Mark Taylor, and Mac Ruth
  • The Revenant – Jon Taylor, Frank A Montaño, Randy Thom and Chris Duesterdiek
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio and Stuart Wilson

Best Sound Editing

  • WINNER: Mad Max: Fury Road – Mark A.Mangini and David White
  • The Martian – Oliver Tarney
  • The Revenant – Martin Hernández and Lon Bender
  • Sicario – Alan Robert Murray
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Matthew Wood and David Acord

Best Cinematography

  • Carol – Ed Lachman
  • The Hateful Eight – Robert Richardson
  • Mad Max: Fury Road – John Seale
  • WINNER: The Revenant – Emmanuel Lubezki
  • Sicario – Roger Deakins

Best Production Design

  • Bridge of Spies – Rena DeAngelo, Bernhard Henrich, and Adam Stockhausen
  • The Danish Girl – Michael Standish and Eve Stewart
  • WINNER: Mad Max: Fury Road – Colin Gibson and Lisa Thompson
  • The Martian – Celia Bobak and Arthur Max
  • The Revenant – Jack Fisk and Hamish Purdy

Best Costume Design

  • Carol – Sandy Powell
  • Cinderella – Sandy Powell
  • The Danish Girl – Paco Delgado
  • WINNER: Mad Max: Fury Road – Jenny Beavan
  • The Revenant – Jacqueline West

Best Makeup and Hairstyling 

  • The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared – Love Larson and Eva von Bahr
  • WINNER: Mad Max: Fury Road – Lesley Vanderwalt, Elka Wardega, and Damian Martin
  • The Revenant – Siân Grigg, Duncan Jarman, and Robert Pandini

Best Film Editing

  • The Big Short – Hank Corwin
  • WINNER: Mad Max: Fury Road – Margaret Sixel
  • The Revenant – Stephen Mirrione
  • Spotlight – Tom McArdle
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Maryann Brandon and Mary Jo Markey

Best Visual Effects

  • WINNER: Ex Machina – Mark Williams Ardington, Sara Bennett, Paul Norris, and Andrew Whitehurst
  • Mad Max: Fury Road – Andrew Jackson, Dan Oliver, Andy Williams, and Tom Wood
  • The Martian – Anders Langlands, Chris Lawrence, Richard Stammers, and Steven Warner
  • The Revenant – Richard McBride, Matt Shumway, Jason Smith, and Cameron Waldbauer
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Chris Corbould, Roger Guyett, Paul Kavanagh, and Neal Scanlan

See all our Oscars coverage here>

DailyEdge is on Snapchat! Tap the button below to add!

About the author:

Amy O'Connor

Read next: